Crafting · DIY

Cosplay Week – Day One

As the countdown to PAX East begins I will reveal the making of my cosplay day by day. This one was quite a step up from what I’ve done previously with much more sewing and manufacturing, but I think it turned out pretty damn cool. I wont say what character it is yet though, lets see how far into the week we can get before it becomes obvious!

I apologize now for the quality of some of the pictures, they are all taken on my temperamental cell phone, I cant usually put things down long enough to pull out my good camera, but process pics are to fun not to share 🙂

Part One: Bag and Gloves


Because part of cosplay for me is re-making things (and therefore not spending tons of money) I picked up these beat up (but really nice) leather gloves from a neighbor and set to work. I removed the liner, sewed up the holes and added a cuff to the top. Not hard, but pretty time consuming with the hand sewing. but basically free!

Now the bags I was pretty excited about, for once a character with bags in her costume! I didn’t have to invent some way to carry my phone and wallet. At my local craft-reuse store I found this great leather-look felt. Super easy to work with, I just backed it and hand sewed the pouches. A second trip to find some cool buttons and they were ready. Just have to attach them to a belt and they’ll be good to go.

15875286_10208643015693004_214929419210984034_o

Leave a Reply

