Baking

Semifreddo: Thanksgiving Dessert Part 1

My contribution to family Thanksgiving is always dessert. Pie is always what we associate with the holiday so even though cake is my specialty (and favorite) I’ll be making pies. I headed off to the library (they still exist!) and a book on dessert pairings caught my eye. its full of pies and frozen matches for them.

Now, the only time I’ve ever been involved in ice cream making was in middle school science class playing with liquid nitrogen. All the recipes in this book look amazing, full custard based ice creams, but something stuck out; Semifreddo. A similar dessert that did involve and turning! A vanilla version would be perfect to pair with both my planned pies (stick around to see those!)

I tweaked it a little to make it non-alcoholic because I don’t like the taste of alcohol and because we have kids coming.

Ingredients + Instructions:

bowl #1:
1 1/2 cups heavy cream- beat on high until it forms soft mounds around the beaters
– set aside in the fridge, wash beaters

20161121_150604

bowl #2:
6 egg yolks
1/3 cup sugar
1/4 cup water
1 tsp vanilla extract
– set up bowl as a double boiler over about 1 inch simmering water
-beat on high 4 to 5 minutes until tripled in size
– put aside in another bowl at room temp, wash bowl and beaters

bowl #3:
2 egg white
1/3 cup sugar
1/4 tsp salt
– set up on double boiler as before
– beat on high about 3 minutes until marshmallow-y
– remove from heat

– Fold together egg yolk and egg white mixture gently until uniform in color
– Fold egg mixture into cream until uniform
– Pour into a pan lined with cling wrap (9×9 pan or 2 loaf pans) and set in freezer, when frozen cover top with cling wrap touching the semifreddo. freeze at least 12 hours before serving, can be stored tightly wrapped in freezer for up to 2 weeks.

I haven’t tasted it yet, its still freezing. But I did lick the spoon and it is only going to get better once frozen! It’s a sweet, vanilla-y light texture and I can’t wait to pair it with my pies. I put mine in a loaf pan and plan to de-pan it and serve slices with the pies.

Leave a Reply

