Baking

Perfect Pie Crust Hack

So I am not a pie girl by nature, I don’t really care for cooked fruit, BUT between being a math nerd (think Pi Day) and a Fair geek (I enter all the county fairs I can get to) I need a go-to pie recipe. For Pi day Ive made a number of wonderful chocolate pies but fair contest are often much more ‘traditional’ and I don’t think I could win without a golden crust and fruit filling.

This year I entered the Homemaker of the Year contest which required a pie that was not only yummy but also pretty. I decided to try out a pie crust hack I heard that would allow me to bring my jam/compote talents to pie making. It takes blind baking to a new level. You bake your crust as if you were preparing it for a cream or other non-bake filling, then cook your filling as you would a jam or fruit compote.

So I took a simple pie crust recipe from Martha Stewart and prepared as directed. I made the whole recipe even though you only need a bottom crust, I wanted some extra for decoration. I made some simple braids to add pizzazz to the edge and set the whole thing in the freezer for about an hour.

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees, glaze crust with an egg wash and poke holes in bottom of crust with a fork and line with with foil, pour beans or pie weighs and bake for 15-20 minutes, remove foil and beans/weights and return to oven, bake an additional 10 minutes until crust is golden brown.

Use your favorite compote/berry mix recipe (or make up your own) cook until its thickened and pour into cooled pie crust. Presto! a delicious pie on a perfectly crisp crust.

My razz-apple compote pie became the center piece for my display that took home the win! Now I have to step it up even more to defend my title for next year.

20160907_200540.jpg

Leave a Reply

